Why Node ?

You may have heard, in the past few years, about [NodeJS][1], a relatively new server-side language.

nodejs.png

Node.js is a platform built on Chrome’s JavaScript runtime for easily building fast, scalable network applications. Node.js uses an event-driven, non-blocking I/O model that makes it lightweight and efficient, perfect for data-intensive real-time applications that run across distributed devices.1

I2 have been trying it for several months now. Before that, I nearly exclusively used PHP for my web projects, and I was happy with it. But when I heard about Node, my curiosity made me move outside my comfort zone and try the thing.

And I am now convinced that Node is the future in Web development.

About NodeJS #

Here are the most important things one need to know about Node :

Quick example : a simple web server #

The following code is using [Express][4], a npm module that offers high-level resources for building webservers.

var express = require('express');
var app = express();

app.get('/hello.txt', function(req, res){
  res.send('Hello World');
});

var server = app.listen(3000);

5 lines, and the server is up and running.

Wanna know more ? #

Head [here][5] for the official website, where you can download and install Node.

Here are some nice resources for beginners :


  1. Extracted from NodeJS official website. 

  2. Nicolas speaking 

  3. Source : VentureBeat | How LinkedIn used Node.js and HTML5 to build a better, faster app https://venturebeat.com/2011/08/16/linkedin-node/ 

  4. Source : VentureBeat | Why Walmart is using NodeJS http://venturebeat.com/2012/01/24/why-walmart-is-using-node-js/ 

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Day Zero

This post is about explaining what we have already done, our first decisions about the upcoming development and sketching an approximative timeline of the project. “Ce qui est fait n'est plus à faire” # Or “What is done isn’t left to do”... Continue →